Skip to content

Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Amex Gold fee and points calculator

The annual fee is $325. Check a credit only if you would use it, then enter the spend you expect. Points are valued at 1.3 cents, the smaller of the valuation file and the publisher check. American Express card page. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

The issuer page does not state a portal, cash, or gift-card cents-per-point value. This calculator does not show one.

American Express transfer ratios are not on the Gold card page. This calculator does not show ratios.

Annual fee and points

Leave a credit unchecked and it counts as zero. Leave a credit amount blank and the calculator uses the printed maximum. One-time offers are not in the total.

Result for Amex Gold

Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Annual fee
$325
Add-on fees
$0
Credits you marked
$0
Points
0
Point value at 1.3 cents
$0
Net annual cost
$325

With nothing checked, the net annual cost is the $325 annual fee.

Add-on fees

The first five additional cards are $0. Each card after that is $35. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Credits you would use

Leave the amount blank to count the printed maximum. Type a lower number if you would use less.

Up to $120 a year, up to $10 a month. Enrollment required. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

$120 a year, $10 a month. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

$100 a year: $50 from January through June and $50 from July through December. Enrollment required. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Up to $84 a year, up to $7 a month. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Spend you expect this year

4X up to $50,000 in a calendar year, then 1X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

4X up to $25,000 in a calendar year, then 1X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

5X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

3X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

2X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

1X. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Optional. A one-time bonus is not added unless you type the points here.

Point value used on this page

The valuation file lists 1.5 cents. The publisher check is 1.3 cents. This page uses 1.3 cents, the smaller figure. The publisher check for Membership Rewards is the smallest of The Points Guy 2.0, AwardWallet 2.04, Frequent Miler RRV 1.5, NerdWallet 1.3. The smallest of those four is NerdWallet. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Valuation file for Amex Membership Rewards: 1.5 cents, last checked 2026-10-17. That figure is the smallest of the sources stored in the file.

Publisher check, Checked Oct 28, 2026. The smallest figure is NerdWallet.

The same valuation file feeds the monthly points valuations. A redemption that is not this card's earn rate belongs in the points value calculator.

Figures and sources

Every row below is a verified or changed figure. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Amex Gold figures. Checked Oct 28, 2026.
ItemValueSourceChecked
Annual fee Annual fee $325. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Additional cards past the first five The first five additional cards are $0. Each card after that is $35. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Restaurants 4X up to $50,000 in a calendar year, then 1X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
U.S. supermarkets 4X up to $25,000 in a calendar year, then 1X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Prepaid hotels through Amex Travel 5X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Flights booked direct or through Amex Travel 3X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Prepaid car rentals and cruises through Amex Travel 2X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Other purchases 1X. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Dining credit Up to $120 a year, up to $10 a month. Enrollment required. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Uber Cash $120 a year, $10 a month. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Resy credit $100 a year: $50 from January through June and $50 from July through December. Enrollment required. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Dunkin' credit Up to $84 a year, up to $7 a month. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
The Hotel Collection $100 credit on a stay of two or more nights. The issuer does not state an annual cap, so it is not subtracted as a yearly amount. Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Membership Rewards value, The Points Guy 2.0 cents Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Membership Rewards value, AwardWallet 2.04 cents Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Membership Rewards value, Frequent Miler RRV 1.5 cents Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026
Membership Rewards value, NerdWallet 1.3 cents Issuer or publisher page Oct 28, 2026

Shown, not subtracted every year

These figures are on the issuer page. A four-year credit, a per-stay credit with no annual cap, a one-time offer, or a benefit with no dollar amount stays out of the yearly total.

  • The Hotel Collection. $100 credit on a stay of two or more nights. The issuer does not state an annual cap, so it is not subtracted as a yearly amount. Source. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Left off this page

  • Membership Rewards transfer partner list and ratios. Not on the issuer page. Ratios are not shown.
  • Portal, cash, and gift-card cents per point. No issuer page states them.

Questions

How does the Amex Gold annual-fee calculator work?

Net annual cost starts at the $325 annual fee. Add-on fees you enter are added. Credits you check are subtracted. Points from the spend you enter are valued at 1.3 cents and subtracted. A credit you leave unchecked counts as zero. One-time offers are not subtracted.

What point value does this page use for Membership Rewards?

The valuation file lists 1.5 cents. The publisher check is 1.3 cents. This page uses 1.3 cents, the smaller figure. The publisher check for Membership Rewards is the smallest of The Points Guy 2.0, AwardWallet 2.04, Frequent Miler RRV 1.5, NerdWallet 1.3. The smallest of those four is NerdWallet. Checked Oct 28, 2026.

Why do some benefits stay out of the annual total?

A benefit stays out when the issuer does not state a yearly dollar amount, when it is paid every four years, or when it is a one-time offer. Counting those as a full yearly credit would invent a figure.

What is left off this page on purpose?

The issuer page does not state a portal, cash, or gift-card cents-per-point value. This calculator does not show one. American Express transfer ratios are not on the Gold card page. This calculator does not show ratios. Membership Rewards transfer partner list and ratios: Not on the issuer page. Ratios are not shown. Portal, cash, and gift-card cents per point: No issuer page states them.